Partner Communities

Statements of Cooperation

The BC Métis Federation continues to build relationships with Métis community and service delivery organizations throughout British Columbia that want to work together for the betterment of the Métis people in BC. The BC Métis Federation introduced a document entitled the “Statement of Cooperation” in June 2011 shortly after the BC Métis Federation was incorporated. The BC Métis Federation board members understood that a mechanism was needed to bring together the Métis communities and recognition for the important roles between BC Métis Federation and the community.

The Statement of Cooperation forms a relationship and mutual recognition and commitment to work together to support culturally appropriate issues and capacity needs. The relationship recognizes the importance of communication, transparency, and policy support based on trust and respect.

The BC Métis Federation will continue to sign Statement of Cooperation agreements as an important first step to building accountable and transparent Métis governance in BC.

Statements of Cooperation have been signed between the BCMF and the following communities:

Dawson Creek Métis Federation

Dawson Creek

View Agreement (2012)

Métis Association of Central Okanagan

Okanagan Valley

View Agreement (2022)

North Thompson Aboriginal Cultural Centre Society

North Thompson

Visit Website View Agreement (2018)

Nova Métis Heritage Association


Visit Website View Agreement 2011

Old Fort Métis Association

Fort Nelson

Visit Website View Agreement (2020)

Peace Region Métis Community Association

Northeastern BC

Peyak Li Moond Métis Society

Prince George

View Agreement (2018)

Skeena River Métis Community Association


Visit Website View Agreement (2013)

South Island Métis Nation

Victoria, Vancouver Island South

View Agreement (2019)
Become a Member