Liberal Majority – Congratulations to Prime Minister Justin Trudeau

Vancouver, BC – BC Métis Federation leadership congratulates Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and the Liberal Party of Canada for the historic victory in the 42nd Federal Election. The Liberal Party of Canada has won a decisive majority after 10 years of leadership by former Prime Minister Stephen Harper and the Conservative Party. There are now 8 Liberal Aboriginal elected candidates with two being Métis.

BC Métis Federation President Keith Henry stated, “On behalf of our leadership, members and partner communities we congratulate the Liberal Party. Clearly Canadians wanted change.”

BC Métis Federation President Henry concluded, “We look forward to a new relationship with the Federal Liberal Government. Their platform on Aboriginal issues renews our hope in a fair and respectful new relationship and we are committed to working together to support the interests of our members. The real work will begin soon and thank you to the Métis candidates in BC who did their best to gain their seats, namely Karly Scott and Louis De Jaeger.

For more information about the BC Métis Federation go to

Media Inquiries: 

Keith Henry, President 
BC Métis Federation 
#300-3665 Kingsway 
Vancouver, BC V5R 5W2 
Office 1-604-638-7220 
Cell 1-778-388-5013 

You can follow BC Métis Federation President Keith Henry on twitter @keithhenryMetis 

You can follow BC Métis Federation on twitter @BCMétis 

[ilink url=”” style=”download”]Click here to download this press release as a PDF.[/ilink]

Become a Member